AP To Get New Districts under Jagan Rule

The successor state of Andhra Pradesh is going Telangana way. Taking a cue from Telangana which had formed new districts soon after the state has been carved out in 2014, new districts are likely to be formed in AP under Jagan’s rule. Although the proposal to create new districts has come before thrice, it hadn’t taken a shape back then. But Jagan is said to be keen on forming new districts to bring ease in administration. It is buzzed that 12 more new districts are under consideration in addition to existing 13 districts. As per reports, the new districts could be formed based on parliamentary constituencies.

Presently, AP has 25 parliamentary constituencies. Considering this, Jagan is toying with the idea of increasing the districts of Andhra Pradesh from 13 to 25. It can be noted that YS Jagan had promised during the polls that he will make every Lok Sabha constituency into a district once he forms the government. As Jagan is all set to form the government, his team is working on the creation of new districts. Officials have started the home-work regarding the proposed new districts. Once Jagan sworn-in as the Chief Minister, the file of new districts will be presented to him.

New Districts (Tentative)

Araku (currently in Visakhapatnam district), Anakapalle (currently in Visakhapatnam district), Amalapuram (currently in East Godavari district), Rajahmundry (currently in East Godavari district), Narsapuram (currently in West Godavari district), Vijayawada (currently in Krishna district), Narsaraopeta (currently in Guntur district), Bapatla (currently in Guntur district), Nandyala (currently in Kurnool district), Hindupur (currently in Anantapur district), Tirupati (currently in Chittoor district), Rajampeta (currently in Kadapa district)

Tribal District

As Jagan had promised to form a Tribal district (Girijana Zilla), there is some confusion on which will be announced as a Tribal District. While a few senior leaders of YCP want Jagan to announce Araku as the Tribal district, few others want the Agency region between Srikakulam and Vizianagaram as Tribal district with Parvathipuram as the Centre. It is said that Araku will be formed as a separate district and Agency region in Srikakulam and Vizianagaram will be made as a separate district.

Source: Read Full Article