Congress got more votes in 4 Assembly segments

Sheila received 28,050 votes more than Tiwari in Seelampur Assembly constituency

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got less number of votes in four Assembly constituencies in the Capital than the Congress, data from the Delhi Chief Electoral office revealed.

Congress candidate Sheila Dikshit received 28,050 votes more than BJP’s Manoj Tiwari in Seelampur Assembly constituency where Congress general-secretary Priyanka Gandhi held her roadshow and put up a close fight in Babarpur and Mustafabad constituencies, but lost the seat by 3,66,102 votes.

In Chandni Chowk, Jai Prakash Agarwal won the most number of votes in Ballimaran Matia Mahal and in the Chandni Chowk Assembly constituencies, but lost the seat by 2,28,145 votes to Harsh Vardhan. In East Delhi, Arvinder Singh Lovely got 5,668 more votes than Gautam Gambhir in the Okhla Assembly constituency, but lost the seat by 3,91,222 votes.

The BJP also swept all the 12 reserved constituencies in Delhi during the Lok Sabha election. This holds relevance in light of the party’s plans to cement it’s booth-level management in these constituencies, ahead of the Delhi Assembly elections next year. Party sources had said that they had been instructed to focus on the Aam Aadmi Party’s support base in the slums and unauthorised colonies here.

For it’s part the AAP got the second highest number of votes in seven of the reserved assembly constituencies, while Congress came runners up in five. The ones in which the AAP performed better than the Congress fell in East, North West and in South Delhi.

The BJP also received the most number of postal ballots at 10,264 votes, far more than the Congress which received only 1,829 postal votes and the Aam Admi Party received 1359 postal ballots.

Source: Read Full Article