EC announces bypolls in three Assembly seats in Bengal, one in Odisha

CM Mamata Banerjee intends on contest from Bhabanipur constituency; bypoll is set to be held on Sept. 30

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on September 4 announced holding of bypolls to three Assembly seats —Bhabanipur Samserganj and Jangipur — in West Bengal and Pipli Assembly constituency in Odisha.

Counting of votes will be held on October 3.

Bypoll for Bhabanipur Assembly constituency in West Bengal is set to be held on September 30. The election body, however, decided to not hold bypolls in 31 other Assembly constituencies and three parliamentary constituencies.

A statement from the Election Commission said it decided to hold the bypoll in Bhabanipur "considering the constitutional exigency and special request from State of West Bengal" as Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee intends on contesting from the constituency. Senior Trinamool Congress leader Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay tendered his resignation in May from Bhabanipur Assembly constituency in Kolkata paving way for the Chief Minister to contest from the constituency.

Ms. Banerjee had represented Bhabanipur in 2011 and 2016. In the 2021 Assembly elections, however, she chose to contest from Nandigram and lost by a narrow margin of 1,956 votes to former TMC leader Suvendu Adhikari, who moved to the BJP.

Source: Read Full Article