Patkura Assembly poll on July 20

Counting on July 24; election for the seat was postponed twice

Election to the Patkura Assembly seat in Odisha, which was postponed twice, will be held on July 20, the Election Commission of India announced on Thursday.

The counting of votes will be held on July 24. The model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect in Kendrapara district since Patkura comes under it.

The election to the Patkura Assembly seat was first scheduled to be held in the fourth phase of the recently concluded general election on April 29.

It was, however, adjourned due to the death of the Biju Janata Dal nominee Bed Prakash Agarwalla on April 20.

Subsequently, the ECI called upon the BJD on April 24 to nominate another candidate and fixed May 19 as the next date of polling. The BJD fielded Agarwalla’s wife Sabitri Agarwalla as its nominee.

But after Cyclone Fani hit the State on May 3, the Chief Electoral Officer, Odisha, proposed to postpone the poll schedule, and the ECI extended the completion of the election in Patkura by 60 days.

The ECI said on Thursday that EVMs and VVPATs will be used in all the polling stations in Patkura. Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPTs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the poll is conducted smoothly.

Source: Read Full Article