Shikhar Dhawan to lead India in West Indies ODIs

One of the star players in Team India, Shikhar Dhawan has clinched a golden chance to lead India’s ODI side this time on the tour of the Caribbean later this month. Ravindra Jadeja is the vice captain of the series and it consists of the 16-man squad. 

Shikhar Dhawan has expressed his happiness on social media, being a captain for the series. He wrote, “I am very excited to lead the ODI side.” So, as this is the first time for Dhawan to sustain as a captain, he is very excited and showing more inquisitiveness to perform his job in an effective way. 

 While Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli and Mohammed Shami have been rested for the three-match series, Shubhman Gill makes his ODI comeback after the tour of Australia in December 2020, and Sanju Samson is back after a year, having played his lone ODI till now in Sri Lanka last July. Samson and Ishan Kishan are the wicketkeepers in the squad.

Shikhar Dhawan will lead India in a series only for the second time. He led a second-string squad on the white-ball tour of Sri Lanka last July, even as the regulars were in England for the WTC final against New Zealand and the Test series against England that followed. 

Across Trinidad, St Kitts & Nevis and Florida (USA), five T20Is will be held before the tour ends on August 7. 

India ODI Squad :

Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (v-capt), Shardul thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

Source: Read Full Article