Vote share erodes in seats held by AAP Ministers: data

Biggest dip of 50.73% vote share was in Ballimaran constituency

In the seven Assembly constituencies held by Ministers of the Aam Aadmi Party, the party lost an average of 40.24% vote share in the Lok Sabha election compared to the 2015 Assembly elections, an analysis of data from the Delhi Chief Electoral Officer’s office showed. On the other hand, the BJP gained an average of 23.48% vote share in these seats and the Congress gained an average of 20.96% vote share.

The biggest dip in vote share among these seats was seen in the Ballimaran constituency, held by Environment Minister Imran Hussain with a drop of 50.73% in vote share. This was also one of the five seats in Delhi where the Congress performed better than the BJP. The smallest dip in vote share was seen in Najafgarh constituency held by Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot with a drop of 19.83%.

Fared worse than Cong.

In five of the Assembly constituencies, AAP also fared worse than the Congress. The party came third in seats held by Chief Minister Arvind Kejirwal (New Delhi), Labour and Development Minister Gopal Rai (Babarpur), Environment Minister Imran Hussain (Ballimaran), Social Welfare Minister Rajendra Pal Gautam (Seemapuri), and Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot (Najafgarh).

In the seats held by Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia (Patparganj) and Health Minister Satyendra Jain (Shakaur Basti), AAP managed to scrape in second, getting 3.37% and 0.6% vote share respectively than the Congress. However, in the parliamentary constituencies in which both these areas fall, the Congress did better than AAP.

The BJP, meanwhile, held a commanding lead over two parties fetching an average vote share of 53.87% in these seven constituencies. AAP, got an average of 14.56% and the Congress got 29.04% in these constituencies.

Source: Read Full Article