Clean sweep by Neelachal boys

Indian Tennis Academy clinches under-16 girls’ crown

Host Neelachal Academy swept the honours in the boys’ section in the second My Tennis Team junior tennis tournament at the Bal Bharati Public School, Pitampura.

Interestingly, it was an all-Neelachal affair in the under-12 boys’ event, while Indian Tennis Academy Champs, Modern Fighters and Asian Pacific Sports Stars challenged Neelachal without success in the under-16, under-14 and under-10 finals.

In the girls’ category, Indian Tennis Academy, which had dominated the first tournament, managed to win the under-16 title through Sampada Narula and Vaibhavi Shekhawat.

United Tennis Academy won the under-14 and under-12 titles, while it was Bhushan Warriors which won the under-10 title.

The two-day tournament had each tie on a best of three rubber format, with each rubber restricted to one set.

It was like a regular match being distributed to three different set of players, two singles and a doubles, with the third match being optional as in a best of three sets match.

The results (finals):

Boys: Under-16: Neelachal Warriors (Raunak Malik, Ridhwan Deshwal, Sarthak Garg) bt Indian Tennis Academy Champs (Siddik Rehman, Hriday Munjal) 6-1, 1-6, 6-3.

Under-14: Neelachal Wavers (Ridhwan Deshwal, Raghav Gupta, Aditya Aggarwal) bt Modern Fighters (Risshit Aggarwal, Pratham Garg) 5-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Under-12: Neelachal Acers (Adhiwan Deshwal, Raghav Gupta, Saswat Mohanty) bt Neelachal Conquerors (Devansh Mohanty, Kayash Lather, Shaurya Goyal) 6-0, 6-0.

Under-10: Neelachal Shooters (Devansh Mohanty, Adhiwan Deshwal, Shaurya Goyal) bt Asia Pacific Sports Stars (Niyansh Mittal, Parth Dahiya) 6-3, 6-1.

Girls: Under-16: Indian Tennis Academy Slicers (Sampada Narula, Vaibhavi Shekhawat) bt Delhi Rockers (Maahi Khanna, Jeslyn Sachdeva) 6-2, 6-3.

Under-14: United Tennis Academy Queens (Kum Kum, Pranya Wadhwa, Chaitanya Chug) bt Delhi Rockers (Maahi Khanna, Vaibhavi Shekhawat) 6-3, 3-6, 6-3.

Under-12: United Tennis Academy Stars (Chaitanya Chugh, Kum Kum) bt Neelachal Victors (Nitya Gupta, Avnee Gambhir) 0-6, 6-4, 6-4.

Under-10: Bhushan Warriors (Saumya Raturi, Vaishnavi Pandey) bt Tennis Stars (Ojasvini Gupta, Vaidehi Kumar) 6-3, 6-2.

Source: Read Full Article