Gauri pips Annu to sports pistol gold

Shriyanka claims top spot in women’s air rifle

World University champion Gauri Sheoran won gold in the women’s sports pistol in the 19th Kumar Surendra Singh shooting championship at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad, on Sunday.

The joy of 21-year-old Gauri was complete as she not only beat Olympian Annu Raj Singh 29-28 in a lively final, but had earlier topped qualification with 577.

Abhidnya Patil won the bronze, ahead of Chinki Yadav, while Yashaswini Singh Deswal, Devanshi Dhama and Devanshi Rana were the other finalists.

Abhidhnya went on to win gold in the junior section, as she beat Sneha Bhardwaj 28-26, with a penultimate perfect round of five. Arunima Gaur won bronze.

Neha, Anjali Choudhary, Devanshi Rana, Devanshi Dhama and Esha Singh also made the final.

In women’s air rifle, Shriyanka Sadangi beat Aayushi Gupta by 0.7 point for the gold, leaving qualification topper Mehuli Ghosh (631.3) settle for the bronze.

Once she got into the lead at the half way stage (12 shots), Shriyanka was pretty strong except for a shot of 9.8, and stayed ahead through the second half.

Shreya Agrawal, Aditi Shukla, Olympian Ayonika Paul, Shakti Chandra and Meenakshi were the others in the final.

Mehuli returned to capture the junior gold ahead of Aakriti Dahiya and Shreya Agrawal, while Manini Kaushik placed fourth.

Kailash on top

Meanwhile, in the fifth National selection trials, Kailash Chand beat Olympian and qualification topper Sanjeev Rajput (1175) by 0.4 point for the first place, in men’s rifle 3-position.

Another Olympian Chain Singh pipped the young Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar for the third place.

Aishwarya, who shot a modest 1155 in qualification, went on to win the junior event 15.7 points ahead of Harshit Binjwa.

The results:

10m air rifle: Women: 1. Shriyanka Sadangi 250.8 (626.4); 2. Aayushi Gupta 250.1 (631.1); 3. Mehuli Ghosh 228.4 (631.3).

Juniors: 1. Mehuli Ghosh 250.1 (631.3); 2. Aakriti Dahiya 248.8 (622.8); 3. Shreya Agrawal 226.3 (627.1).

Youth: 1. Namrata De 250.9 (622.6); 2. Zeena Khitta 247.8 (622.4); 3. Aakriti Dahiya 225.9 (622.8).

25m sports pistol: Women: 1. Gauri Sheoran 29 (577); 2. Annu Raj Singh 28 (574); 3. Abhidnya Patil 24 (576).

Juniors: 1. Abhidnya Patil 28 (576); 2. Sneha Bhardwaj 26 (566); 3. Arunima Gaur 23 (567).

Trials-5: 50m rifle 3-position: Men: 1. Kailash Chand 454.4 (1158); 2. Sanjeev Rajput 454.0 (1175); 3. Chain Singh 442.8 (1164).

Juniors: 1. Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar 458.8 (1155); 2. Harshit Binjwa 443.1 (1144); 3. Niraj Kumar 432.5 (1145).

25m sports pistol: Junior men: 1. Udhayveer Sidhu 589; 2. Sambhaji Patil 583; 3. Vijayveer Sidhu 582.

Source: Read Full Article